Book Reviews · Uncategorized

Bridget Jones’s Diary Review

Bridget Jones’s Diary is one of my all-time favourite films and I have enjoyed the misery and hilarity of single Bridget on my screen for many years. It’s my go-to film for any occasion and I’m a huge fan of Renee Zellweger, Hugh Grant, and Colin Firth and truly think they make the film. I was lucky enough to get a copy of Bridget Jones’s Diary and The Edge of Reason so I finally got to start the Diary journey. It’s safe to say that this was highly anticipated and I couldn’t contain my excitement when I jumped into bed to start reading. This book certainly did not disappoint, so thank you Helen Fielding!

From the first sentence you get a really clear picture of Bridget Jones and Fielding has created a strong and lovable voice on the page. Her hilarious documentation of weight, cigarettes, and calories has you laughing, as we’ve all been there once or twice before. I instantly fell in love with Bridget and sympathised with her singleness, although that’s not so bad at 21 (I hope!). The diary style was the perfect choice for this book as you really got a sense of Bridget as a person and could laugh and worry along with her.

Daniel Cleaver was even better in the book and I spent my whole time smiling and laughing at their work-time flirting. You couldn’t help but fall in love with him, despite knowing he is ‘complete fuckwittage’ as Bridget’s gang would say. He was such a brilliant character and really toyed with Bridget, and therefore myself too as I was so invested in her life. The novel teases you with tiny, yet wonderful interactions with Mark Darcy which ensured I spent the whole time wishing that he was there. He also didn’t disappoint when he swooped in at the last minute to save the day.

Bridget Jones’s Diary was also filled with wonderful female characters (plus Tom who was an honorary woman) that made you appreciate the crazy things you do with your own gang. From getting drunk, to angry feminist rants, it really captured the spirit of friendship and the ups and downs that come with that. Her mum was also a brilliant character, having a larger role in the book that drove the plot and her relationship with Mark. I thought this was a strange touch at first but I soon got on board with it.

The wonderful thing about this novel was the way it made me beam from ear to ear and curl up in a ball smiling as I reacted to the events. Bridget’s thoughts made this such a personal experience that had me laughing with her every step of the way. Waiting till now to read it was the best decision as I do believe you can be too young to appreciate the content. I also can’t wait to read this again and again throughout my adult life to see what I get from it in different circumstances. There is something in this novel for everyone and it’s the perfect girly book to save you from any bad day, or accompany your happy ones too. I would 100% recommend this book to everyone and strongly believe that every woman should read this at least once in their life! Funny, witty, and much, much more. Thank you so much to Helen Fielding for blessing me with this wonderful novel. I can’t wait to read the next one.

I hope you guys enjoy it too and fall in love with Bridget, Daniel, and Mark as much as I did. Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

