theatre review · Uncategorized

Lord of the Dance: Dangerous Games Review

Yesterday I was lucky enough to watch Michael Flatley’s Lord of the Dance: Dangerous Games after winning two tickets at the Bristol Hippodrome! The show is currently on its world tour, so I was expecting a pretty epic night. Since the age of 4 I’ve danced and have always dreamed of seeing a Michael Flatley show and I’m glad to say it did not disappoint. This production knew how to put on a good show, combining incredible dancing talent with video technology, flashing lights, and live music and singing. This wasn’t just a dance show, it was a spectacle.

I feel compelled to start by praising the sheer talent the whole cast displayed last night. Irish dancing is unlike anything I’ve seen before, and it was great to see it combined with other styles for a unique flare. Not one person was a beat out of time (trust me, I looked), and I couldn’t believe their feet moved so fast! Lord of the Dance is clearly a showcase of Flatley’s talent. The show contained iconic moments that were a joy to see live, and it showed off the ability of the cast, who clearly did eat, breathe, and sleep dance. The story was your basic good versus evil, so if you’re expecting a complex plot told in dance then look away, but I didn’t care. This wasn’t a story, it was a showcase. Lord of the Dance blended Irish folklore with modern images to take us on this magical journey filled with all things mystical, including lots of great dancing.

FullSizeRender

The whole performance was a visual experience. The linear patterns and sequined costumes created gorgeous images that were met with intense dance sequences. Technology had clearly been pushed in Dangerous Games; a huge screen was used to project images instead of set. The whimsical lands of the Lord were contrasted by the evil of Don Dorcha, with flames and lasers creating a dark atmosphere. The performance built to a crescendo of epic dance battles that really showcased the talent of the two leads, who are some of the youngest to accomplish these roles. Some of the tech did unfortunately fail towards the end of the show but, as someone studying a drama degree, I know that accidents can happen. This didn’t take away from the show as I was captivated by the sights and sounds on stage. Lord of the Dance was not only a visual spectacle, but an aural one, too. My favourite sound is a tap show hitting the floor, so I could’ve closed my eyes and enjoyed the shoes rhythm, working to compliment the music.

If you’ve read lots of my reviews you’ve probably noticed that I’m quite positive about everything – maybe I’m too nice? – but Lord of the Dance: Dangerous Games deserved every word of praise I have written today. This show is such an breathtaking experience and an entertaining night. You don’t have to be a fan of dance to enjoy it either, because everyone can appreciate the talent and visuals displayed.

A 10/10 from me! Thanks again Bristol Hippodrome for the tickets and Michael Flatley and the Lord of the Dance cast for providing a great show. Grab any chance you can to see this show.IMG_7667

Happy watching!

Leave a Reply

