My Monthly Me · Uncategorized

My Monthly Me – June

Another month, another catch up! June has flown by and I can’t believe I’m wrapping up another month already but I’ve still got a lot of great things to include. It’s been a bit of a weird time for me, having finished university in May and being in that awkward period where I’m trying to enjoy a little break but unemployment and the future are lurking in the distance. I do, however, have lots of very good news to share with you all, as well as general bookish info and what I’m loving this month! So, here’s June…

 

NEWS

I found out my university classification this month and I can officially say I’m graduating UWE with a First Class Honours degree in Drama with Creative Writing! Every time I write it down or say it out loud it still seems so surreal, but it just shows that you can achieve anything with hard work and dedication.

NetGalley Badge

I’m still trying my hardest to expand my blog in my own way, which has been a goal for every My Monthly Me feature so far! I signed up to NetGalley this month and was approved for a title, as well as auto-approved for a publisher. This is really exciting for me and will help me achieve my goal of reading more new releases.

As well as life news, I also have some exciting blogging news. I’ve recently been accepted onto the Theatre Royal Plymouth Blogger Scheme, an initiative run by my local theatre where a select group of bloggers are invited to events to write about and review their experiences. I recently went backstage at The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time for my first event, which was a fantastic experience. You can read about it here.

IMG_9499
A very bad picture, but look at me on stage!

 

Books:

We’re half way through 2017 already and I have read five books. This probably doesn’t seem like much for a book blogger, but I’m a slow reader and it’s hard to balance my own reading between plays and critical material I had to read for my degree.

This month I read and reviewed Fight Club, and totally loved it! I recently bought the 20th anniversary Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, and wrote a great post about why you should all buy it , and my first ever ‘blind date with a book’! This was a brilliant idea and will probably be my next read (it’s As I Descended, for those wondering from the clue below). I’ve still got lots of books on my shelf, so I won’t be running out any time soon.

IMG_9314

 

What am I loving?

If you read my blog regularly you’ll know I’m always loving books, films, and theatre, so I thought I’d tell you what else has a special place in my heart this June.

  1. Disney @ Primark – I’m a huge Disney fanatic, so there affordable merch is my dream. Check it out if you haven’t already!
  2. Candles & Wax – If you saw my review of the Scent Circus Wax melts you’ll know I adore these, but I also have a huge candle obsession, too. I nabbed some gorgeous Yankee Candles in the Clintons sale last week and saved myself £8!

IMG_9588

 

What’s next for me?

I don’t have many blog themed goals for July, except continuing to expand my blog which will definitely be helped by NetGalley and the Theatre Royal Blogger Scheme. I’m also hoping to reach my first, but very tiny, blog milestone, too! I’d like to bring you lots more posts, especially fitting in with the summer theme. What would you like to see?

As for me, I’m focusing on my life. Bring it on July!

Copy of Copy of NEWS(1)

Leave a Reply

