Book Reviews · Book Tags · Uncategorized

The New Disney Princess Book Tag!

I’ve never taken part in a tag before, mainly because I don’t think I’ve ever read enough to give interesting answers (especially because I’m severely slacking when it comes to reading new releases). But, when Kayla @ Kdrewkthebookworm tagged me I knew I couldn’t resist. This is the first time I’ve been nominated for a tag and I am a huge Disney fan, basically pretending I’m a Disney princess every day. So, here goes…

 

The Rules

  1. Mention who tagged you or where you saw it (thanks again Kayla!)
  2. Tag the creators – The New Disney Princess Book Tag is the genius collaboration of Mandy and Zuky. I’ve also gone and stolen their princess photos for my tag, so I hope they don’t mind!
  3. Play a game of tag at the end!

 

Untitled Design(10)

snow-white.jpg

Snow White – This Book (like the Movie) Started It All

Favourite Debut Book From an Author

butterfly lion.jpg

So, I’m going to mix this up a little bit as, off the top of my head, I haven’t read a debut book from any author. I somehow manage to start in the middle every time! Instead I’m going to tell you the first book I remember reading by a particular author that started my love for them. The Butterfly Lion by Michael Morpurgo is the first book I ever remember reading!

 

cinderella-tag.jpg

Cinderella – A diamond in the rough

Just like Cinderella, you either didn’t expect much out of this character in the beginning but they turned out to be a total gem

fangirl.jpg

For this princess I went for Cath from Fangirl. To be completely honest, I was hesitant with this book as a whole. I find contemporary YA really hit and miss and tend to steer clear of it, but this was gifted to me by a very lovely friend, so of course I had to read it. I fell in love with Cath and her story, really relating to her, and loving the book!

 

aurora.jpg

Aurora – Sleeping Beauty

A Book That Makes You Sleepy or Just Could Not Hold Your Attention

bridge to terabithia.jpg

I hate to say that the Bridge to Terabithia did not do it for me. I tried SO hard to read this book. I picked it up several times, restarted it, tried reading in different places, but it did not hold my attention at all.

 

ariel-tag.jpg

Ariel – Under the Sea

A Book With a Water/Ocean Setting

catching fire.jpg

I thought about this a lot and realised that I don’t read that many books which have a complete water or ocean setting. I settled on Catching Fire, with the arena obviously being water based. I adore this book and think the setting is partly what makes it.

 

belle-tag.png

Belle – Beauty and the Books

Name a Book With the Best Bookworm/Book Lover

bridget jones.jpg

Before you think this is a really weird choice, let me explain! Bridget Jones is a huge book lover. Okay, maybe she doesn’t read fiction like we do, but she is totally obsessed with self-help books. Her shelves are covered and she lives her life by them. She even tries to throw them away when people make fun of her, but she ends up accepting her love and returning to her books. She also writes a diary, which kind of counts as a book?

 

jasmine.jpg

Jasmine – The Thief and the Princess

Name Book with an Unlikely Love Story (Either in Terms of Romance or a Book You Didn’t Expect to Love So Much)

mortal instruments.jpg

When I think of messy love stories and triangles my brain always drifts towards The Mortal Instruments series. If you’ve read this you’ll know there’s  whole load of beautiful love stories, as well as a whole load of crazy ones.

 

poch.jpg

Pocahontas – The Real Life Princess

Name a Book that is Based on a Real Life Person You Want to Read/Have Read

rosalind.jpg

So I’m cheating on this one slightly and using a play. I haven’t really read any books on real life people (I don’t like autobiographies or biographies) but as a drama student I have read, or even performed, so many plays based on real and wonderful people. So for this princess I’m choosing Rosalind by Deborah Gearing. This tells the story of Rosalind Franklin who was a pioneer in DNA research but was written out of history, and is such an important story!

 

mulan.jpg

Mulan – The Princess that Saved Her Country

Name the Fiercest Heroine You Know

lireal.jpg

I’m choosing Lireal as the fiercest heroin from the book of the same name by Garth Nix. She wasn’t my first choice, or my second or third for that matter, but when I thought about it I realised how fierce she was. It’s nowhere near my favourite book, but Lireal is orphaned to a tough regime where her destiny is challenged. She’s forced to journey out of her safe life to rescue a boy she’s never met and discover who what she’s truly worth. That’s pretty fierce if you ask me.

 

tiana-tag.jpg

Tiana – The Princess With The Coolest And Most Diverse Crew

Name a diverse book whether it is a diverse set of characters (like Tiana’s group of Naveen, Louis, Ray, and more) or just diverse in general

as i descended.jpg

I know I’m at fault here for not reading many diverse books, but I’m going to go for my latest read for this answer. As I Descended is set in the deep south on an old plantation, so naturally mentions race aspects, but also has several LGBT main characters. I loved this so would appreciate more diverse recommendations!

 

rapunzel.jpg

Rapunzel – Let Your Longggggg Hair Down

Name the Longest Book You’ve Ever Read

wuthering heights

I don’t know if this is actually the longest book I’ve ever read but Wuthering Heights certainly feels like it. I had to read this for my A-Level English Literature exam and boy did it draaaaaaag.

 

merida.png

Merida – I Determine My Own Fate

A Book Where There is No Love Story/Interest or Isn’t Needed

the shock of the fall.jpg

For this princess I’m also choosing a book I had to read for a curriculum, but instead this was for my Creative Writing Project module at university. I’m not a fan of love stories at all and actively avoid them, but still it seems like most stories do include some form of love story or interest. The Shock of the Fall, however, has no love story! It is about the journey of a mentally ill teen coming to accept the death of his brother.

 

IMG_0548

Anna and Elsa – Frozen Hearts

A Book in a Winter/Cold Setting

narnia.jpg

I had to think really hard about this one again but I eventually settled on The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, for very obvious reasons!

 

moana-head

Moana – How Far I’ll Go

A Character That Goes on a Journey

the hobbit.jpg

I happen to read a few books that are about a character’s journey, whether metaphorical of physical. My favourite has to be The Hobbit. This is the most epic journey novel ever! Thanks Bilbo and company for the adventure.

 

Copy of The Rules

I’m going to tag a couple of my recent followers, The Royal Bookshelf and Lola @ Lola Et La Vie, and invite them to join if they’d like. If you’re not tagged but reading my post, feel free to do the tag anyway as I’m going to openly invite everyone!

Thanks for reading!

6 thoughts on “The New Disney Princess Book Tag!

  1. I tried to pick up Fangirl before, but for some odd reason I set it back down. XD I think I talked myself out of reading it because of the hype? XD But I’m super excited that you said that you were scared of the hype as well, but still enjoyed. I also love how you picked Catching Fire for the water setting. I totally always forget that one had a water based arena, but a super cool pick! Thanks so much for doing the tag, and I loved your answers! 🙂

    Like

    1. I’m so picky with that genre but as it was a present I kind of forced myself to read it. Turns out I really loved it! I’m not sure I’d pick up all her books but Fangirl was good. I had to think so hard about the water setting! No problem, thanks for the tag, I loved doing it😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

