Book Memes · Book Reviews · Book Tags · Uncategorized

Top 5 Tuesday – Buzzwords That Make Me Want to Read a Book

Last week I participated in Bionic Book Worm’s ‘Top 5 Tuesday’ and really loved it, so I’ve decided to attempt to join in every week this month. Last week’s prompt was Book World’s I Want to Live In which was a lot of fun to think up. This week is all about buzzwords! What makes me read a book isn’t something I talk about often, but of course I always have my go-to genres and styles. I really had to think about this list, and of course there are many more buzzwords and phrases that catch my eye, but here are a few I’m loving right now.

 

Fantasy

Fantasy is my favourite genre and probably my most read, too. As I glanced around my room all I saw was piles and piles of fantasy books, from huge series to stand alones. There’s just something about it that captures my attention. I love being transported to different worlds, experiencing magic and mystery, especially those with mythical creatures. I often read to escape reality or just be transported to one I’d never get to experience, so this is definitely my top buzzword.

 

Copy of Fantasy

Over the many years I’ve been obsessed with reading I’ve picked up books in a first person, diary form. From Angus, Thongs and Full Frontal Snogging as a young teen, to Bridget Jones in my university life, I love indulging in the life of a character. Whether it’s the hilarious examples I’ve mentioned or something more hard hitting like letter style The Perks of Being a Wallflower, I love to read a diary.

 

Copy of Copy of Fantasy

This is a bit of a new buzzword for me and something I’m really starting to jump on this summer. Retellings are a great way to experience old favourites or find a new perspective on a story. This all started with As I Descended (you can read my review here), a retelling of my favourite Shakespeare play. Now I have a few different retellings on my shelf waiting to be read, especially this Disney kind!

 

Copy of Copy of Copy of Fantasy

This technically isn’t a buzzword as such, but more a buzz-genre or style, I guess. My love for this style probably started around GCSE and A-Level English where I had to read The Catcher in the Rye and The Great Gatsby, which I both completely fell in love with. I also love to read unlikely coming of age adventures which focus on a personal change or discovery, like in The Hobbit. I know coming of age is technically a story about a young character reaching adulthood, but I believe people find themselves on a journey at all ages and I love reading about it.

 

Copy of Copy of Copy of Copy of Fantasy

Alongside fantasy, this is also my favourite genre. Whilst they often cross over in the books I read, I always find myself picking up a dystopian novel. Admittedly I haven’t read many traditional dystopian novels such as 1984, but I really love the dystopian/fantasy cross over. There’s just something about these novels I can really get my teeth into. Normally I hover towards female protagonists who challenge the establishment and take down a bad regime, so I guess I like to imagine it could be me!

 

I hope you’ve liked reading about my buzzwords that make me pick up a book and I definitely encourage you to join in with all the fun. Are there any buzzwords that you automatically turn to?

Happy reading!

8 thoughts on “Top 5 Tuesday – Buzzwords That Make Me Want to Read a Book

  1. I definitely agree with your choices. I’m also a sucker for a good fantasy story, there’s a particular kind of escapism to them that you can’t quite get with any other genre. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

