All Film & TV · All Other · Film Review · Fun!

My Movie-cation

You know those classic films that everyone has watched? The most-loved ones, the cult films, and even the guilty pleasures? Well, I never seem to have seen any! So, over the summer I made it my mission to have a movie-cation and finally see some of the world’s best films. It’s a slow journey but I’m slowly getting there and thought I’d let you in on the way. Watch out, (possible, if you’re like me and need a film education) spoilers ahead.

 

  1. The Sixth Sense

i-see-dead-people-gif

I feel like this is one of those films I’ve been missing out on my whole life, and whilst the twist was ruined (thanks The Lonely Island), I was still excited to watch it. This film was also my first M. Night. Shyamalan experience and it certainly won’t be my last. I totally loved this film and can’t express that enough. It was so well shot and the story was so engaging. Even though I knew Cole could see dead people and Dr Malcolm was already one of those, I still appreciated how incredible the reveal must’ve been. I still need to watch this film again to look out for the subtle clues that expose this, like the lack of shadow.

5/5 – a must watch

 

  1. The Shawshank Redemption

Another one of those classic films that everyone loves, and another film where the plot twist was impossible to avoid. Despite this, I was interested, especially knowing it is a Stephen King short story. At first I thought the film started off slow and lacked in action; however, I soon came to realise that Shawshank actually depicted the ins and outs of prison life. I fell in love with Andy, the protagonist, and became engaged with his story. The moment you realise he managed to escape this prison after years of plotting and executing was truly memorable. Luckily for me my memory is bad so this was somewhat retained its revealing qualities! I thought the ending was extremely fitting and was the perfect finish to a story, providing enough hope to contrast their dismal lives.

4/5 – definitely give this a go.

 

  1. Trainspotting

choose-life-trainspotting-speech

Trainspotting is another film based off a novel of the same name, and has become a cult movie to some extent. Ewan McGregor is also one of my favourite actors, so I was glad I finally watched this. Straight away I knew I would love this film, thanks to the stylistic choices of Danny Boyle, the director. The ‘Choose Life’ opening was incredible and it just got better from there. The story was consistently engaging and had you sympathising with the strange life of the drug addicted characters. The way the trips were filmed were hilarious and beautiful all at once, with my personal favourite being when McGregor climbed into a toilet to swim! The film took a turn I was completely expecting and the ending left me wanting more. I can’t wait to watch T2 Trainspotting and even read the books, which I will hopefully review here one day.

5/5 – one of my new favourite films!

 

I hope you enjoyed my movie-cation journey and maybe I’ve inspired you, too. What classic, must-see films would you recommend? Maybe I’ll add these to my list too.

Happy Watching!

[Image Credit: giphy and IMDb]

2 thoughts on “My Movie-cation

  1. I love all 3 of these films! I am trying to watch classic/must see/cult films too as there are some glaring gaps in my film viewing.

    My suggestions (quite a few here): Alien, Dead Poet’s Society, Moulin Rouge, Rear Window, The Usual Suspects, Good Will Hunting and Interstellar.

    If you want anymore, there are plenty of film reviews on my blog 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love them too, even if I’m a bit late to the party!
      Moulin Rouge is one of my favourite films! But I’ll definitely be adding the others to my list and checking out your blog for ideas. I have a lot of classic catching up to do 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment