All Film & TV · Film Review

Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 Review

I’m a little bit late to this party but I finally got the chance to see Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 after the stress and excitement of finishing university had calmed down. Now, this was a hugely anticipated film release for me following the first Guardians of the Galaxy, which instantly became one of my top Marvel films, if not my firm favourite! If you haven’t seen the first film, it’s about a bunch of unlikely space criminals that end up saving the world together. This isn’t your average Marvel film as it is set entirely in space and is much more tongue and cheek and even a bit cheesy, but in the most incredible way. Known for its outstanding soundtrack and hilarious characters, I was certainly excited to watch Vol. 2 and it’s safe to say I was not disappointed one bit.

Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 followed the same format as the first, taking us back to Earth for some context before throwing us into the intergalactic chaos. Bringing back all our old favourites, including the star studded cast, Christ Pratt, Vin Diesel, and Bradley Cooper, to name a few, this is a film not to be missed. Character development was clearly the focus of the hard work that created this sequel, delving deeper into the life of the characters we love so much. This stands out the most with Drax, whose previous struggle with metaphors continues to create comedic moments that made the whole cinema laugh out loud as he begins to understand the human ways. Baby Groot was also a great addition to the film, also providing comedy alongside an overdose of adorableness! He was certainly the talk of the film and will be the most in demand merchandise in my opinion.

Unfortunately for me the soundtrack was not as good as the original Awesome Mix Part I (the name of Peter Quill’s tape and the film soundtrack). Whilst many adults in the audience seemed to enjoy the music, the songs weren’t as well known to me and didn’t have me jumping out of my seat. However, they still had me grooving to the beat which is all that matters. As well as classic ’80s music, Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 is riddled with pop culture references (and even ones that I and children younger than me would understand). From guest appearances from Pac Man to David Hasselhoff, the was a great addition would have me laughing, and was probably a blast from the past for my parents generation.

All of this perfectly complimented the storyline, which was somewhat unexpected from the small details I’d heard prior to watching. Marvel’s comedy was contrasted with heart wrenching moments, which had me tearing up much more than the first film. This was much more than your usual good vs. evil superhero story. In Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 we see our favourite rogues return in a new position, respected by all, and faced with the greatest of challenges. This is a story of friendship, and family, love and honour. A heart warming sequel to the first film, and all Marvel and superhero films in general, to come.

Remember to stay in your seat until the very end of the credits, although I’m sure I don’t need to tell you all that! This film blesses us with five extra credit scenes! I won’t spoil them for you, but I know you certainly won’t want to miss them.

What are your thoughts on the film? Who is excited for Marvel’s next releases?

Happy watching!

2 thoughts on “Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 Review

Leave a comment